Posted by: ellyterhaar | April 12, 2011

Life after college

As I walk to school I can officially hear the birds chipping. I hear people roaming the hallways discussing their summer countdowns. Though I am excited for the summer heat there is a certain anxiety this summer will bring.  For me and so many others graduating this year from college that anxiety comes from the opportunities, or lack thereof, in the job market. Though it is stressful I know I will eventually find employment and it will likely be because of my education and experiences from Edgewood College. During our social media class one tool that I thought would be particularly helpful was LinkedIn. This professional networking site allows you to connect with career opportunities and create a professional profile with resume included. Even with initial hesitations, I have come to realize what a valuable tool LinkedIn can be.

LinkedIn can connect you with potential employers, companies and people you may know. The home page gives you suggestions for places that you can work and groups you might be interested in and some job opportunities are posted on LinkedIn only. So as summer rolls around for graduating seniors like me, LinkedIn is truly a god send.

Leave a Reply

Categories

