Posted by: ellyterhaar | April 8, 2011

A Piece of My Childhood

I am going to get personal.  For the past couple of hours I have been trying to procrastinate and figure out what I want to blog about. While procrastinating I did the one thing I love do, clean. Various ideas came to mind about different blog topics and I realized that today I want to blog about something more personal. Something that I truly care about. In class we were talking about how blog posts should be about something you care about. Don’t just talk about the weather.

I came to Madison four years ago to go to college. My whole life I grew up thirty minutes away from Washington D.C. I took advantage of living so close to the capital that I never really appreciated how cool all of the monuments and museums are. I have been to most of them but after one time you feel like you have done the tourist thing. One thing that never got old was going to see the cherry blossoms in late March early April. For four years I have missed my favorite part about living back home. When I was logging into wordpress.com I saw a blog that had a picture of cherry blossoms on it. It caught my attention and I had to read it. It was a nice reminder of my childhood.

Every year we would go to the Cherry Blossom Festival. This festival is only two weeks long. When you walk down in the middle of thousands of cherry blossoms your body gets intoxicated by the fruity smell. Your face gets warmed by the sun and the cool breeze from the river brushes across your face. Yes, I remember my last time going there like it was just yesterday. It truly is a one of a kind experience. I guess you can say sometimes I get a little homesick.

Responses

  1. I absolutely loved reading your blog posting this week. You really let bright personality shine through. Made me inspired to see DC at this time of year for the intoxicating cherry blossom trees!


Leave a Reply

Categories

